top of page

Miscellaneous Thoughts

Freeing the mind...

Something we practice in Gifted Honors English is freewriting with a mindful purpose. It's supposed to clear the mind of all the clutter so we can start class fresh. Now if I'm going to be honest, I'm typically a doubter when it comes to this class but mindful writing is something I feel very strongly about because I feel refreshed afterwards.

Captured by Emma Watson; the march in DC

My first topic on my public freewrite would have to be about the Women's Rights March that took place yesterday. I thought it was the coolest thing ever. So many people on all seven continents participated to give women a voice in this sexist world we live in. Now with such an amazing movement occurring, there will be doubters and there was no shortage on this one. One boneheaded highschool BOY had the audacity to say that women have been equal since the 1960s and protesting now is pointless. I have two issues with this. First of all, a MAN made this statement. Second of all, this is honestly a ridiculous statement in general. Women still earn 76.8% of what men make nowadays yet they still perform the same level of work. And getting rid of Planned Parenthood will increase the risk of self-abortion related deaths and injuries. Why is it fair that some middle aged white men get to decide what we are and aren't allowed to do with our bodies? No matter your belief system, you should respect the beliefs of others over anything else.

Young male support

It also kinda blows my mind that this was the biggest inauguration protest in recorded history. It's just awesome that everyone came together and marched for a cause that ultimately affects everyone. Even if you're not a woman, your mothers, daughters, aunts, and grandmothers need these rights so don't tell me that it doesn't apply to you.

This freewrite turned into a rant but that's okay with me. I want to spread my beliefs and positivity on here and while not everyone may agree, I want everyone to be educated about a subject before you start fighting for the wrong cause.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page